Articoli
Policy Changes - Ottobre 2017
Articolo del 2-10-2017 a cura di Strati Jacopo
Strati Jacopo

 
 
Salve giudici! Questo nuovo set, insieme a dinosauri piumati, gorgoni pirata e conquistadores non metaforicamente assetati di sangue, ha portato con sé anche alcune modifiche a IPG e MTR.
Qui di seguito trovate le differenze fra il vecchio testo (a sinistra) e il nuovo testo (a destra) dei documenti, evidenziato e commentato. In verde sono indicati le parti che sono state aggiunte, in rosso quelle che sono state rimosse.
Buona lettura!


IPG 1.1 Definition of Penalties


Game Losses are applied to the game in which the offense occurred unless the players have begun a new game or the tournament is between rounds, in which case the loss is applied to the player’s next game. If simultaneous Game Loss penalties are issued to each player, they are recorded, but do not affect the match score. If a player receives a Game Loss at the same time his or her opponent receives a Match Loss, the Game Loss is carried over into the next round.
 

Game Losses are applied to the game in which the offense occurred unless the players have begun a new game or the tournament is between rounds, in which case the loss is applied to the player’s next game. If simultaneous Game Loss penalties are issued to each player, they are recorded, but do not affect the match score
 

Fino ad oggi, se un giocatore riceveva una penalità di Partita Persa nello stesso momento in cui il suo avversario riceveva una penalità di Incontro Perso o Squalifica, la Partita Persa veniva applicata al turno successivo di quel giocatore.

Esempio: Andrea, durante il secondo turno di un pPTQ, riceve una Partita Persa per Errore di Lista nello stesso momento in cui il suo avversario riceve un Incontro Perso per Aiuto Esterno. La penalità di Partita Persa verrà assegnata ad Andrea all’inizio del terzo turno del torneo, facendo cominciare il suo incontro con un risultato di 0-1 per l’avversario.

Un’eventualità simile era estremamente rara e, a conti fatti, era ingiusto penalizzare un giocatore “a posteriori”. Adesso, quindi, la penalità viene registrata e fatta valere nel turno in cui viene assegnata, anche se questa non ha un impatto effettivo sul risultato dell’incontro.

IPG 2.1 Game Play Error - Missed Trigger
 

Additional Remedy
Three types of triggered abilities do not expire and resolve immediately if they are discovered:

• A triggered ability that specifies a default action associated with a choice made by the controller (usually “If you don’t …” or “… unless”). The opponent may choose not to resolve this trigger. Otherwise the default action must be chosen.

• An enters-the-battlefield trigger of an Aura that affects only the enchanted permanent and causes a visible change to that permanent.

• A delayed triggered ability that changes the zone of one or more objects defined when the ability was created. For this trigger, the opponent chooses whether to resolve the ability the next time a player would get priority or when a player would get priority at the start of the next phase.

If the ability was missed prior to the current phase in the previous turn, instruct the players to continue playing. If the triggered ability created an effect whose duration has already expired, instruct the players to continue playing.
 

Additional Remedy 
Three types of triggered abilities do not expire and resolve immediately if they are discovered: 

• A triggered ability that specifies a default action associated with a choice made by the controller (usually “If you don’t …” or “… unless”). The opponent may choose not to resolve this trigger. Otherwise the default action must be chosen.

• An enters-the-battlefield trigger of an Aura that affects only the enchanted permanent and causes a visible change to that permanent. 

• A delayed triggered ability that changes the zone of one or more objects defined when the ability was created. For this trigger, the opponent chooses whether to resolve the ability the next time a player would get priority or when a player would get priority at the start of the next phase. 

Abilities consisting of an action followed by "when you do" in the same ability are considered communicated by the announcement of the action. This is most commonly the case for exert and similar abilities.

If the ability was missed prior to the current phase in the previous turn, instruct the players to continue playing. If the triggered ability created an effect whose duration has already expired, instruct the players to continue playing.


 
A partire da Amonkhet sono state introdotte delle abilità innescate un po’ particolari: nello stesso testo abbiamo un’azione opzionale seguita da un “quando lo fai, [effetto]”. Se il giocatore compie quell’azione, l’abilità si innesca.
Questa dicitura compare in carte come la Heart-Piercer Manticore, ma è comune anche nelle carte con Stremare: molte creature, infatti, possono essere stremate per far innescare una loro abilità legata a quella specifica azione.
Anche se, formalmente, decidere se stremare una creatura è un qualcosa di “separato” dall’innescata relativa, nel 99% dei casi un giocatore che annuncia di stremare il suo Glorybringer lo fa perché vuole utilizzare la sua innescata.Più in generale, quindi, si assume che se un giocatore esegue o si dimostra consapevole dell’azione seguita da “quando lo fai”, allora l’innescata relativa si considera ricordata.

Questo è vero solo se l’azione opzionale e l’innescata relativa fanno parte della stessa abilità (ovvero sono presenti nella stessa stringa di testo). Per esempio ci sono delle creature che possono essere stremate senza nessun effetto particolare, e poi hanno un’innescata a parte che recita “ogniqualvolta stremi una creatura”. Queste sono innescate normali e non rientrano in questo punto. Confrontiamo ad esempio Trueheart Twins e Khenra Scrapper.

Per riassumere: se un giocatore si è dimostrato consapevole dell’azione a cui fa riferimento un’innescata “quando lo fai”, allora questa si considera ricordata. Nel caso in cui non sia stata risolta, siamo davanti a una Violazione delle Regole di Gioco, e la gestiamo di conseguenza.

Esempio:
AP: “Ti attacco col mio Glorybringer e lo stremo”.
NAP: “Ok, allora lo blocco con la mia Pianta 0/1”.
AP: “Ok, allora non prendi danno e… aspetta! Dovevo risolvere l’innescata! JUDGE!”
Judge: “Ok ragazzi, l’innescata non è stata dimenticata perché AP si è dimostrato consapevole dell’azione innescante. Semplicemente vi siete scordati di risolverla, quindi è stata commessa una Violazione delle Regole di Gioco. Torniamo indietro fino alla sottofase dichiarazione delle creature attaccanti: AP sceglie un bersaglio per l’innescata, poi potete riprendere a giocare da qui.”

IPG 3.2 Tournament Error - Outside Assistance
 

Philosophy
Tournaments test the skill of a player, not his or her ability to follow external advice or directions. Any strategy advice, play advice, or construction advice from an external source is considered outside assistance. Visual modifications to cards, including brief text, that provide minor strategic information or hints are acceptable and not considered notes. Detailed instructions or complex strategic advice may not be written on cards. The Head Judge is the final arbiter on what cards and notes are acceptable for a tournament. Spectators who commit this infraction may be asked to leave the venue if they are not enrolled in the tournament.
 

Philosophy
Tournaments test the skill of a player, not his or her ability to follow external advice or directions. Any strategy advice, play advice, or construction advice from an external source is considered outside assistance. Visual modifications to cards, including brief text, that provide minor strategic information or hints are acceptable and not considered notes. Detailed instructions or complex strategic advice may not be written on cards. The Head Judge is the final arbiter on what cards and notes are acceptable for a tournament. Spectators who commit this infraction may be asked to leave the venue if they are not enrolled in the tournament.
Downgrade: If the information acquired is information that the player would have access to between games, the penalty is a Game Loss.
 



Aiuto Esterno si guadagna la possibilità di ridurre la penalità da Incontro Perso a Partita Persa.

Non lasciatevi ingannare dal testo criptico: in soldoni, se un giocatore guarda i propri appunti presi al di fuori della partita o durante la partita stessa (o guarda la lista del mazzo del suo avversario, se siamo nella fasi finali di un torneo REL Professional), allora ci è possibile ridurre la penalità.
Le informazioni che ha ottenuto sono informazioni a cui avrebbe avuto accesso di diritto fra una partita e l’altra. Non ha ottenuto nulla di nuovo di ciò che già aveva: semplicemente, lo ha fatto nel momento sbagliato (aiutando eventualmente la sua memoria).
Di conseguenza interrompere l’intero incontro a favore dell’avversario è eccessivo, mentre subire una Partita Persa appare decisamente più equilibrato e proporzionato all’infrazione commessa.

In tutti gli altri casi in cui un giocatore chiede o offre informazioni nascoste e/o consigli strategici in merito all’incontro in corso, la penalità resta Incontro Perso.

MTR 4.2 - Tournament Shortcuts.

 

A tournament shortcut is an action taken by players to skip parts of the technical play sequence without explicitly announcing them. Tournament shortcuts are essential for the smooth play of a game, as they allow players to play in a clear fashion without getting bogged down in the minutiae of the rules. Most tournament shortcuts involve skipping one or more priority passes to the mutual understanding of all players; if a player wishes to demonstrate or use a new tournament shortcut entailing any number of priority passes, he or she must be clear where the game state will end up as part of the request. A player may interrupt a tournament shortcut by explaining how he or she is deviating from it or at which point in the middle he or she wishes to take an action. A player may interrupt his or her own shortcut in this manner. A player is not allowed to use a previously undeclared tournament shortcut, or to modify an in-use tournament shortcut without announcing the modification, in order to create ambiguity in the game. A player may not request priority and take no action with it. If a player decides he or she does not wish to do anything, the request is nullified and priority is returned to the player that originally had it.
 
A tournament shortcut is an action taken by players to skip parts of the technical play sequence without explicitly announcing them. Tournament shortcuts are essential for the smooth play of a game, as they allow players to play in a clear fashion without getting bogged down in the minutiae of the rules. Most tournament shortcuts involve skipping one or more priority passes to the mutual understanding of all players; if a player wishes to demonstrate or use a new tournament shortcut entailing any number of priority passes, he or she must be clear where the game state will end up as part of the request. A player may interrupt a tournament shortcut by explaining how he or she is deviating from it or at which point in the middle he or she wishes to take an action. A player may interrupt his or her own shortcut in this manner. A player is not allowed to use a previously undeclared tournament shortcut, or to modify an in-use tournament shortcut without announcing the modification, in order to create ambiguity in the game. A player may not request priority and take no action with it. If a player decides he or she does not wish to do anything, the request is nullified and priority is returned to the player that originally had it.
During the resolution of one of their spells or abilities, a player may not assume their opponent had taken a shortcut. They must seek confirmation that a choice with no visible impact was taken.
 
 

Eccoci al cambiamento più discusso e “di peso” di tutto l’aggiornamento dei documenti.

Se la risoluzione di una nostra magia o abilità richiede al nostro avversario di compiere una scelta di qualche tipo, adesso è nostra responsabilità accertarci che egli sia effettivamente consapevole di poter compiere quella scelta. Per capire meglio, ecco un esempio:

IERI:
“Nella tua sottofase di inizio combattimento lancio Path to Exile sulla tua creatura.”
“Ok, la esilio. Allora vorrei attaccare con queste altre due.”
“Ok, blocco così e così.”
“Allora… ehi aspetta, ma io dovevo cercare una terra base per via del tuo istantaneo!”
“Beh, non lo hai fatto, quindi si assume che tu non abbia voluto.”

OGGI:
“Nella tua sottofase di inizio combattimento Lancio Path to Exile sulla tua creatura.”
“Ok, la esilio. Allora vorrei attaccare…”
“Aspetta! Vuoi cercare terra base o no?”
“Ah giusto, allora metto una Foresta dal mazzo sul campo di battaglia. Bene, adesso vediamo con cosa posso attaccarti…”

Come vedete, non possiamo più assumere che il nostro avversario abbia volontariamente deciso di NON fare qualcosa se, in realtà, si è dimenticato di farla, anche se lo stato di gioco risultante è comunque legale. Non vogliamo misurare l’abilità di un giocatore dalla sua attenzione nel leggere le carte, ma della sua capacità di usare al meglio le informazioni che ha diritto di sapere per fare la scelta strategica migliore possibile.

NOTA BENE: non ricordare all’avversario la possibilità di compiere una scelta in queste circostanze costituisce una Violazione delle Regole di Comunicazione, mentre farlo di proposito è Barare e, di conseguenza, porta alla squalifica.
Informate bene i vostri giocatori locali di questo cambiamento ed educateli subito, onde evitare il presentarsi di situazioni problematiche!


The following additional time limits are recommended for Limited tournaments:

• Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 30 minutes for deck construction

• Draft—25 minutes for deck registration and construction

• Team Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 60 minutes for deck construction

• Team Draft—40 minutes for deck construction and registration

• Two-Headed Giant Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 60 minutes for deck construction

• Two-Headed Giant Draft—40 minutes for deck construction and registration
 


The following additional time limits are recommended for Limited tournaments: 

• Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 30 minutes for deck construction. For sealed deck events that take place on the weekend of a new set release, 15 additional minutes for deck construction is recommended.

• Draft—25 minutes for deck registration and construction 

• Team Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 60 minutes for deck construction. For Team format sealed deck events that take place on the weekend of a new set release, 15 additional minutes for deck construction is recommended.

• Team Draft—40 minutes for deck construction and registration 

• Two-Headed Giant Sealed Deck—20 minutes for deck registration and 60 minutes for deck construction. For Two-Headed Giant format sealed deck events that take place on the weekend of a new set release, 15 additional minutes for deck construction is recommended.

• Two-Headed Giant Draft—40 minutes for deck construction and registration

 

Capire sinergie e meccaniche di carte completamente nuove richiede tempo, specialmente se con quelle carte nuove devo costruire un mazzo in poco tempo!

Ecco perché, per tutti gli eventi Sealed (non Draft!) che hanno luogo durante il week end di rilascio di un set, il tempo di costruzione del mazzo è aumentato di 15 minuti. Speriamo che questa lettura possa avervi chiarito le idee.

Se volete approfondire l’argomento non esitate a fare domande, a visitare il forum ufficiale su judgeapps o ad unirvi alla discussione nel canale #policy su Discord!

Alla prossima!

Non dimenticate di leggere anche l’articolo sui cambiamenti alle regole!


Revisione: Giorgio Maldarizzi